Skip to main content

College Credit Plus Library Resources: Tools and Strategies for Academic Librarians

Tools and strategies to support research and writing assignments that students complete as part of the College Credit Plus (CCP or CC+) program.

CCP: What You Need to Know About the CCP Participants' Access to Research Resources

College Credit Plus

 

Any college-ready students, grades 7-12 at any of Ohio's public schools, who qualify for college admission may participate in College Credit Plus. This program allows students to earn secondary and college credit at the same time. For more information, see the Ohio Higher Ed University System of Ohio's College Credit Plus page.

All CCP participants, including students enrolled in CCP courses and any high school teachers who are also teaching CCP courses as adjuncts of a university have the right to access the university library's print and electronic resources. This means that CCP participants can request your materials online, search your library's authoritative databases, and make use of OhioLINK services. For some CCP participants, this will be both exciting and confusing. CCP students are your students, too, and you can help them!

  1. Find out who your institution's advisor is for your CCP students. All universities are required to assign an advisor to CCP students. Meet with the advisor to help them provide clear language to CCP students about accessing your library resources.
  2. Collaborate with the high school librarian who works with students for their regular high school classes. Some districts have a district-wide librarian rather than a librarian in the building. This is an excellent opportunity for you to work together to improve the student transition to college.
  3. Collaborate with any high school teachers who are also teaching CCP courses as adjuncts through your institution. Encourage them to bring their class to your library for at least one class session so that students can get experience in an academic library setting.
  4. Encourage your university to link to your "Ask A Librarian" page or contact information from their CCP website. Many universities have at least one webpage dedicated to CCP. Make sure you have a presence there.
  5. Get embedded into the course management system used for the CCP classes offered by your university. Many CCP classes are offered entirely online so this will be the best way for you to reach your CCP students.
  6. Familiarize yourself with the INFOhio resources. INFOhio provides free access to scholarly and popular journal content, authoritative databases, primary source documents, and eBooks for all PreK-12 students in Ohio. If students are having trouble accessing or understanding your library resources, redirect them to the INFOhio resources.

If you work with CCP instructors who teach research skills, consider encouraging them to try Research 4 Success. INFOhio's Research 4 Success (R4S) course is designed to help CCP students, students in grades 11 and 12, or college freshmen and sophomores develop the skills to conduct rigorous research.

INFOhio: The Right Research Resources for All PreK-12 Students

INFOhio is Ohio's PreK-12 digital library. All of Ohio's PreK-12 students, their parents, and teachers have access to INFOhio's electronic research resources. Users can view scholarly and popular journal articles online, search authoritative databases, explore primary source documents, and download a host of eBooks.

In other words, whether users are taking CCP classes or regular high school classes, INFOhio is a great place for them to start their research.

Users can search nearly all of INFOhio's trusted electronic resources from a single search box using INFOhio's discovery tool, ISearch. To search INFOhio's electronic databases individually, users should visit the INFOhio Resources link.

Users may be prompted to log in with their school's INFOhio username and password. Users can look up their school's username and password at INFOhio's Find My Password page. Academic librarians working with CCP students are welcome to use INFOhio resources and academic librarians can request the statewide INFOhio username and password using the form on INFOhio's Find My Password page. Please do not share this information on the open web.


Databases included in INFOhio's EBSCOhost multi-database search include:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information
  • Alt HealthWatch
  • Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
  • Business Source Premier
  • Computer Source
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • ERIC
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
  • GreenFILE
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Literary Reference Center
  • MAS Ultra - School Edition
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • MEDLINE
  • Middle Search Plus
  • Newspaper Source
  • Newswires
  • Primary Search
  • Professional Development Collection
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
  • Regional Business News
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • Science Reference Center
  • Sociological Collection
  • TOPICsearch
  • Vocational and Career Collection​

Note: INFOhio does not use an external link resolver, such as LinkSource.

OhioLINK Information

OhioLINK is a state-funded consortium of more than 120 Ohio academic libraries and the State Library of Ohio. Students, faculty members, and staff members affiliated with OhioLINK institutions can request materials online, view journal articles online, search authoritative databases, and make use of other OhioLINK services that enhance research and education.

If the users' CCP university is an OhioLINK member institution, encourage them to use the OhioLINK central catalog.


Search OhioLINK's central catalog:


Help CCP participants determine which electronic databases are available to them:


If your CCP students have questions about using OhioLINK resources, encourage them to visit OhioLINK's information for students:


For more information on using OhioLINK, including requesting and borrowing print materials, users should visit the OhioLINK FAQ:


OhioLINK Quick Links:


Users may contact their academic librarians using the information provided on the site below. Please be sure your academic library's contact information is accurate. 

Students

Educators

INFOhio

INFOhio is optimized by the Management Council