Skip to main content

Guide to INFOhio for Ohio's Public Librarians: About INFOhio

Learn how you can help the PreK-12 students you serve get the most from the resources available to them.

Share your collaborations!

Are you collaborating with your school or public library in a creative way? Share those collaborations with INFOhio on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. 

  • Are you collaborating with an area school librarian?
  • Are you providing outreach services to Ohio's PreK-12 community?
  • Do you provide reference assistance and homework support to students in your library?

You need to know about INFOhio

You can access INFOhio resources using the statewide username and password. To get the statewide username and password: 

  • Complete the Find My Password form.
  • From the "Who are you?" drop-down, select "I am a public librarian."
  • Complete the rest of the requested information.

If the information you submit can be verified, the statewide username and password will be displayed immediately. For more on logging into INFOhio, watch the video.

INFOhio FAQ

INFOhio is Ohio's PreK-12 digital library. If you are familiar with OPLIN, you can think of us as sort of a PreK-12 version of that. In fact, INFOhio and OPLIN are partners, along with OhioLINK, in Libraries Connect Ohio. INFOhio provides library automation, instructional support, and lots of electronic resources to Ohio's PreK-12 community.

All PreK-12 students, their parents, and educators residing in the State of Ohio can use INFOhio.

INFOhio provides free tools and resources that are aligned to Ohio's Learning Standards.

Ohio Department of Education and federal funds provide these online resources for all public and nonpublic PreK-12 schools, students, their parents, and educators across Ohio free of charge. The INFOhio Digital Library (the Core Collection) is funded in part through an Institute of Museum and Library Services LSTA grant awarded by the State Library of Ohio to Libraries Connect Ohio, a collaboration of Ohio’s three library networks—INFOhioOhioLINK, and OPLIN—that serve PreK-12, university, and public libraries.

INFOhio provides students, teachers, and parents residing in the State of Ohio with many of the same electronic databases that public librarians provide to their patrons (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Science Online, World Book, etc.) and we have similar databases that are appropriate for students in PreK-12. Additionally, we have a large digital video collection. For more information, download our Teach/Learn flyer.

We also have tools specifically for teachers to help them find assignments, assessments, and curriculum aligned to standards. 

Yes. INFOhio provides Ohio schools with free access to subscription resources using a statewide username and password. We’ll share it with you if you use this form to verify that you live in Ohio and are a public librarian providing services to the PreK-12 community. INFOhio asks that you not publish the username and password in any document that will be posted to the Internet. 

Most of the schools in Ohio have their own district-wide login for INFOhio. If you are providing services to a PreK-12 student or educator who doesn't know her password, encourage her to use this form to look it up. If you are providing services to a PreK-12 student or educator without a district username or password, let us know. We’ll help the district get one.

Get social with us on social media! Subscribe to INFOhio News! Join our listserv! There are lots of ways to stay connected with INFOhio. Use the links below or visit our Stay Connected page for more.

Loading

Promoting Public Library Visits to the PreK-12 Community

If you provide services for PreK-12 students or teachers visiting your public library, encourage the school librarian and teacher to accompany any visiting PreK-12 students.

Additionally, consider providing the following information in advance:

  • A map
  • Parking information
  • Identification required
  • Information about guest access/logging onto computers
  • Information about guest circulation privileges
  • Information about returns
  • Cost of copies/printing
  • Form of payment accepted for copies/printing

Students

Educators

INFOhio

INFOhio is optimized by the Management Council